Debt Consolidation Ideas


Stupid Debt, Smart Debt

Posted in Uncategorized by debtconsolidationideas on February 12, 2008
Tags: ,

The rich are different. And they think about debt differently. Most people struggling with overwhelming debt dream about being debt-free. Yet many wealthy individuals willing get in and out of debt all of the time. In fact, debt is part of their overall financial strategy.

 How does that work?

It’s smart debt. Smart debt is using debt to leverage money. For example, if I can borrow money at 6% but can make 10% investing it, it’s smart to borrow in order to invest. Granted, such situations are incredibly rare in actual real life, but it’s a theoretical answer.

Smart debt is always about improving your bottom line, that is, your individual net worth. For example, let’s say I shop around and find a very underpriced home on the market for $100,000. I buy it, putting $10,000 down and taking out a $90,000 mortgage. If the house could truly be resold for more money, that’s smart debt. Let’s say I invest another $10,000 to spruce the place up. Now I’m in the hole $110,000. But if I can turn around and sell the place for $150,000, I just made $40,000. That’s using debt the way the rich do.

But if I really really really want to go to DisneyWorld and don’t have the money and load up my credit card for $10,000, that’s not improving your net worth. You may have memories, but you’re out $10,000 and there’s no hope to recover that (you can pay it off, but you can’t turn around and “resell” your vacation). Not only that, you owe interest which is rent on your money.

Smart debt is characterized by three things:

1. There is an exit strategy. You don’t get into smart debt unless you know how you’re going to get out, when you’re going to get out, and what your emergency exit plan is in case disaster strikes.

2. You are leveraging or amplifying the power of your money, that is, you are using the debt to “buy an opportunity” that won’t otherwise be available to you or would not be wise. For instance, if I buy a house with a mortgage, thinking I can re-sell, it might not be smart for me to liquidate my 401(k) plan to make the purchase … but a mortgage would work.

3. The smart debt improves your net worth.

One Response to 'Stupid Debt, Smart Debt'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Stupid Debt, Smart Debt'.

  1. Anya Bennett said,

    Hello,

    I am Anya Bennett a financial writer. I write on several finance related topics like debt, loans, insurance, investment and so on. I came across your site while surfing through the internet to find a suitable blog for writing articles. It is highly resourceful with rich and nice contents and has a vivid presentation. I must appreciate your hard work and wish you good luck.

    I was wondering if you can allow me to write for your site/blog. I assure you to provide you an absolutely unique but relevant article so that it proves to be useful to your readers. I wish you consider this proposal and will wait for a reply from you.

    If you are displeased with my email, I cordially regret in advance.

    My Kind Regards,
    Anya Bennett.
    Email ID: anya.bennet@gmail.com


Leave a comment